Home Forums In Flight Emergencies VFR Comm Pilot Scenario 2

Tagged: 

8 replies, 7 voices Last updated by  Cat93449 1 month, 1 week ago
  • Author

jokoenig
    Participant
    @jokoenig

Talking about the second commercial pilot scenario I must say that this flight is far below my personal minimums for VFR flying. Also, I have no experience on a SR22 and – at the time of writing – no instrument rating yet. So, under no circumstances I would do a flight like this. Still, I’d like to share my thoughts for a hypothetical Go-Decision:

Can you legally do this flight VFR?
    Legally, we could leave on a SVFR clearance in KTVC and stay in airspace G all the time after leaving airspace D. So, legally, its a yes.

What altitudes will you fly?
    We need to stay in G, so maximum 700ft around the airports and max 1200ft for the rest of the flight. I would fly as high as possible, of course, slightly below the clouds.

Who will you (if any) file a flight plan with?
    I would definitely go ahead and file a plan, probably using my iPad.

Who will you notify of your intent to fly this route at this time, under these conditions?
    I’d tune in flight service and ask for VFR flight following.

What emergency equipment do you need to have on-board a single engine airplane flying over water?
    Since this is a Part 91 flight, I assume 91.205(b)(12) applies and states “flotation gear readily available to each occupant” and “at least one pyrotechnic signaling device”. In our case, that means 2 adult life vests, 2 child life vests, a dingi and a light gun.

What would you do if you smell smoke while taxiing out of Beaver Island for departure?
    Cancel the flight.

What would you do if you smell smoke and noticed a small wire burning under the instrument panel 10nm after departure?
    Land on the next suitable airfield, in this case its probably KTVC again.

What type of airspace will KTVC be when you arrive?